Mosaic_Blik

I’ve had my eye on Blik’s removable vinyl wall graphics for a while as a potential way to spice up the apartment without getting in too much trouble with our manager.  The problem is, they look neatest when adhered on a colorfully painted wall.

Me.

Me.

Blik stocks original graphics, as well as designs from Threadless, Nintendo, and, for some strange reason, American indie-pop band of Montreal.

“[Frontman Kevin] Barnes named his band Of Montreal because he wanted people to think his band was from Montreal … Why not just name the band “We’re from Montreal” then, and get it over with?  Oh right, because Barnes wanted to make it extraordinarily difficult for fans to use his band’s name in a sentence:

Of Montreal Fan: Ever heard of Of Montreal? I’m a fan of Of Montreal. In my book there’s nobody above Of Montreal.

Hot Indie Chick: You’re hooked on phonics, aren’t you?”

Cracked.com, “The 25 Most Ridiculous Band Names in Rock History,” of which of Montreal* is #16

*See what kind of prepositional bedlam just resulted there?  gahh

For me, though, the real gold doesn’t lie in plastering “The Skeletal Lamping Collection” all over my bedroom walls.  I’m more drawn to the prospect of Blik’s Prose line, which allows customers to custom-order vinyl graphics of a favorite quote of their choice:

Jack Kerouac, On the Road

Jack Kerouac, On the Road

Raymond Chandler, The High Window

Raymond Chandler, The High Window

Lost, Season 1

Lost, Season 1

If I were to choose one, I’d currently go for this line from T.S. Eliot in my kitchen:

“[She] slips and pulls the table cloth

Overturns a coffee-cup,

Reorganised upon the floor

She yawns and draws a stocking up;”

T.S. Eliot, Sweeney among the Nightingales

It seems appropriate for my usual early morning stupor.  As usual, feel free to write your own ideas in the comments.

