Today, Boing Boing featured a post about a “Gender Analyzer” algorithm created to determine whether a blog was written by a man or a woman.

WHAT

WHAT

Gender Analyzer allows you to enter the URL of any blog, and through AI, makes a guess about the gender of the blogger.  To my indignation, Gender Analyzer thought that exploring berkeley was written by a man.  In fairness, this could have something to do with the fact that my most previous post contained phrases like “drafted in the NFL”, “loud explosion”, and “Sports Illustrated”.  When I tried Natalie’s and Michael’s old blogs, which are based around baking and technology, respectively, Gender Analyzer was spot-on.

While Gender Analyzer

The huge amount of traffic driven to the website by today's Boing Boing post has diluted accuracy somewhat. This screenshot was taken at around 1 pm today.

Gender Analyzer was created using a website called uClassify, built by a three-person team in Sweden; the people behind uClassify are endeavoring to bring classification tools to the public for free under a Creative Commons license.

“We find it enormously exciting to see what happens when a tool for creativity is given to the community. We hope to see all kinds of beyond-our-imagination classifiers and incredible web applications being built around the API.”

Jon Kågström, Emil Kågström, and Roger Karlsson,
the uClassify team

(I include this quote partially because it ties in to a future post I will link to about the Free Culture Conference 2008 I attended a few weeks ago, but another part of me just likes to see the cool rings and umlauts in their Swedish names.)

Absolutely anyone with an interest in classification can build their own analysis tool on uClassify’s website.  Another popular application of uClassify’s technology is the Typealyzer, which claims to determine the blog author’s Meyers-Briggs personality type.  At the risk of turning this post into the blogging equivalent of a pimped-out MySpace page or over-apped Facebook profile, this is apparently what my brain looks like when I blog for you.

The Mechanic

ISTP: The Mechanic

I won’t paste the full analysis here, but you can go to Typealyzer yourself to see the alleged inner psychological workings of me and other bloggers.  Here’s a taster, though: ISTPs, which based on my blog I can apparently count myself amongst, “enjoy adventure and risk” and should have future professions “driving race cars or working as policemen and firefighters”.

Wait, why am I going to college?  I am destined to be a Lego City public defender.

Me, in the future.

Right.

