Since starting this blog, I have developed an unhealthy need to take photographs of my food.  Things have gotten to the point where I will bring an entire dinner party to a halt just so that I can take a few snaps for this blog while my friends slouch in their chairs, exhale pointedly, and roll their eyes.

My favorite meal to photograph is lunch; maybe it’s the simplicity of the meal, or the way the light in our kitchen looks at noon, or the satisfaction of a well-fixed sandwich.  Hopefully, these photos will give you healthy lunch ideas that are easy to fix in 10 minutes with a stock of basic groceries from the fridge in your apartment.  At the very least, my mom, who just started reading this blog, will be able to see that I’m not living off of Hamburger Helper and Mac & Cheese in college.  Hi, Mom.

celery; broccoli; baby carrots; hummus

After school snack: celery; broccoli; baby carrots; hummus

turkey, jack cheese, baby spinach, mayonnaise, dijon mustard; hummus; tortilla chips; sugarplums

Sandwich: turkey, jack cheese, baby spinach, mayonnaise, dijon mustard; hummus; tortilla chips; sugarplums

Baby spinach, roma tomatoes, raisins, sunflower seeds, olive oil and balsamic vinegar

Baby spinach, roma tomatoes, raisins, sunflower seeds, olive oil and balsamic vinegar

salami, jack cheese, sprouts, tomatoes, dijon; vegetable chips; pear

Sandwich: salami, jack cheese, sprouts, tomatoes, dijon; vegetable flax seed chips; pear

PB&J; baby carrots; hummus; tortilla chips; sugarplums

Sandwich: crunchy PB&J; baby carrots; hummus; tortilla chips; sugarplums

As you have doubtless noticed, hummus is a staple part of my diet.  Hummus to me is like corn to the Incas, or rice to the Chinese, or barley to the Mesopotamians.  As I have mentioned multiple times on this blog, it’s all about Trader Joe’s, people.

For this post, I was inspired by Jen’s blog project at simply breakfast, introduced to me by Natalie.  Jen takes amazing photographs each morning of the first meal of the day, and has even published an entire book of them.  Here are a few samples of her work:

I’m not nearly as patient as Jen in selecting backdrops and dishware specifically chosen for the way their colors compliment and accentuate the food-as-art.  Usually I manage to snap a photo just before I wolf down my lunch and dash to swim class.

If I was a snooty art major, though, I would give the alternate explanation “I like to give the natural colors and textures of nature room to express themselves, by juxtaposing them with the simple pastoral feel of our worn wooden table, so that the visual exploration of the food itself is the focal point.”

===

Edit: Drat, I just saw that Stuff White People Like posted an entry on hummus two days ago.

