Four out of five school days, I eat lunch in the apartment because I’m working from home for my internship with ChunkIt!, a San Jose, CA tech company that basically has found a way to make your Internet research (easier), better, faster, stronger.  This is usually after Stats 20 lecture or before swim class, so by the time lunchtime rolls around, you can bet that I’m in serious need of brain food.

This is one of my favorite lunches: a toasted PB&J with crunchy peanut butter, tortilla chips, carrot sticks and hummus, fruit, and milk.  When I made it on Thursday I felt like a 1940s mom preparing a nutritious and healthful lunch pail for her first grader.  Except that first grader was me.

Literally 95% of what's on this plate is from Trader Joe's.

Literally 95% of what's on this plate is from Trader Joe's.

I even covered all of the food groups again: protein (peanut butter), grains (bread, chips), fruits and vegetables (plums, carrots, hummus), and dairy (milk).  Score.

