When I was touring college campuses, trying to decide which school to go to, no school was more hospitable than USC.  The hosts were gracious, the food was excellent, and the Marshall School of Business especially spared no expense on recruiting, giving every prospective business student a pretty classy book bag with their logo emblazoned on it.

No, this is not my new book bag.  Gross.

No, this is not my new book bag. Gross.

I ultimately decided not to become a Trojan, but I wasn’t about to chuck the bag.  It sort of kicked around in the back my closet for a year or two until a few weeks ago, when I transformed it via a fast and easy DIY project: patches.

Some of my friends and I were meandering along Telegraph browsing the street vendors’ wares, when we came upon Patch’s stand.  Patch, I am fairly certain, uses the patches as a front for secretly selling weed.  He keeps it under wraps, though, making only very subtle references to marijuana, such as a large Kermit the Frog hand puppet perched atop his stand with a blunt in its mouth.

Anyway, Ellie and I were only interested in the patches.  We purchased several of our favorite bands’; I took mine home and safety-pinned them over “USC Marshall School Of Business” to create what I would just like to say is now a very kickass book bag.

My new book bag kicking ass

My new book bag kicking ass

...and taking names.

...and taking names.

