Who am I kidding?  I’m craving fried chicken always.  You would be too, if you’d been to Angeline’s Louisiana Kitchen on Shattuck. Despite never having been to the actual Bayou State, I am always delighted at what I am sure is the authenticity of Angeline’s menu.  Just listen to this.

The first time I went, I had fried catfish, hush puppies, potato salad, and hot crispy beignets. If you don’t know what a beignet is, it’s basically hot fried dough shaken around in powdered sugar (delicious).

Real live beignets.

Real live beignets.

Even my roommate from last year, a notoriously picky eater who turned her nose up at everything from sushi to grapefruit juice to the humble bean, grudgingly admitted about Angeline’s beignets, “I approve of your fried dough thing.”

My second time was even better, with fried (spot a trend?) chicken, mashed sweet potatoes, green beans, and sweet tea. It was the best fried chicken I have ever had. Colonel Sanders and his 11 secret spices were STOMPED.

Shattuck Ave. entrance

Shattuck Ave. entrance

Angelines Gumbo

Angeline's Gumbo

This fried chicken has my name on it.

This fried chicken has my name on it.

